How Has Lent Changed You?


Aboriginal Christian art - Alice Springs

Only one more week to go until the end of Lent.  It ends Maundy Thursday when our focus moves to the passion of Christ and the events of Easter.

But I am wondering how has Lent changed us this year?  Has it been just an exercise in reflection and contemplation or has it really been a time to reevaluate our lives and make some necessary changes so that new aspects of God’s image are revealed in us.  Has it made us more aware of our God who aches with the homeless and the destitute?  Has it opened our eyes to the needs of those at the margins and our need to be more compassionate and more outspoken in seeking after justice?  Has it drawn us closer to the heart of God through our prayers and scripture reading?

What are the changes that you feel God has initiated in your life during this season of Lent?  Obviously there are some changes that we may not be aware of, but there are others that we may be very aware of.  I think that it is good to write these down and give thanks and praise to God for those changes.

One of the things I find is that it is much harder to reflect on what has changed than to ask for change in our lives.  As a consequence we tend to focus on what is wrong rather than what is right.  Both are necessary however, not only so that we are aware of what God is doing in our lives but also and probably more importantly so that we can become aware of God’s words of approval “Well done good and faithful servant.” is something I believe God wants to tell us regularly – the trouble is we rarely take time to listen.

Yesterday’s New Testament reading was from 2 Corinthians.  It included this passage:

Whenever someone turns to the Lord, the veil is taken away.  For the Lord is the Spirit and wherever the Spirit of the Lord is there is freedom.  So all of us who have had that veil removed can see and reflect the glory of the Lord.  And the Lord- who is the Spirit – makes us more and more like him as we are changed into God’s glorious image.  (2 Corinthians 3:16 – 18)

It was a great scripture to meditate on as I thought about the changes I am aware of that still need to happen in my life and reflected on what I feel has changed during Lent this year – the changes may seem small, but like a parent that applauds every new step a child makes towards adulthood, God applauds every step we make towards the revelation of “God’s glorious image.”  Maybe Palm Sunday this weekend is a good time to look and listen for God’s approval.  Let God bathe you in his love and fill you with a sense of his approval in your accomplishment.

7 Responses

  1. God has been teaching me to take a step back from my knee-jerk reactions to the world around me. I tend to get worked up about things (like Glenn Beck’s recent comments about social justice) and respond in a combative way. God is teaching me that yes, he made me that way, but it isn’t always the best response. He also gave me talents as a storyteller, which is one of the primary ways Jesus responded to the outrageous behaviors and statements around him.

    • Kristin, I think that storytelling and telling meaningful stories is a great way to respond rather than following our knee jerk reactions. I am glad that Lent is helping you to learn that

  2. God has been working in my heart through the unlikely season of Lent over the past few years. But your post made me stop and think specifically how it’s changing me this year? I think it’s showing me that when I let go of something I think I “have” to have, God fills that hole with more of himself. I love the invitation to pause and just sit in the stillness and come to grips once again with my frail sinful nature juxtaposed against the greatness of a loving God.

  3. […] How Has Lent Changed You? […]

  4. […] Getting our bearings – How suburban Christians can come to terms with Indigenous Australia Posted by Matt Carson / August 8, 2012 / Hi all you young people.  Don’t be like me! It took me 50 years to wake up to my responsibility to act justly in relation to Indigenous Australians.  I regret that, and don’t want you to make the same mistake.  You and I live where we do and the way we do because our ancestors stole the land.  You and I are not responsible for that, but I believe we are responsible for how we live as the beneficiaries of that wrong.  The current 20:21 course Urban Christians and Indigenous Australians is a great way to start thinking about this stuff.  We can’t all be fully informed about everything, or called to the same ministries.  But the next three Wednesday nights (7.45 pm at the church) are a gift-wrapped opportunity to at least become aware of what it’s all about and meet some great Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people who are willing to share their insights.  We’ve got 60 people enrolled so this is not about filling seats so we feel good.  But there hasn’t been a young person sign up yet, so this is a passionate encouragement to you not to miss out. Unless you are earning a wage, the cost is only $6 per night.  Please consider.  Hope to see you there. Tom Slater *Image from https://godspace.wordpress.com/2010/03/25/how-has-lent-changed-you/ * […]

  5. […] Hi all you young people.  Don’t be like me! It took me 50 years to wake up to my responsibility to act justly in relation to Indigenous Australians.  I regret that, and don’t want you to make the same mistake.  You and I live where we do and the way we do because our ancestors stole the land.  You and I are not responsible for that, but I believe we are responsible for how we live as the beneficiaries of that wrong.  The current 20:21 course Urban Christians and Indigenous Australians is a great way to start thinking about this stuff.  We can’t all be fully informed about everything, or called to the same ministries.  But the next three Wednesday nights (7.45 pm at the church) are a gift-wrapped opportunity to at least become aware of what it’s all about and meet some great Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people who are willing to share their insights.  We’ve got 60 people enrolled so this is not about filling seats so we feel good.  But there hasn’t been a young person sign up yet, so this is a passionate encouragement to you not to miss out. Unless you are earning a wage, the cost is only $6 per night.  Please consider.  Hope to see you there. Tom Slater *Image from https://godspace.wordpress.com/2010/03/25/how-has-lent-changed-you/ * […]

Leave a comment