Starting a Faith-based Community Garden


Community garden Lynden WA

I am doing some research in preparation for my Spirituality of Gardening seminars in Seattle and Lynden in a couple of weeks and thought that some of you might be interested in some of the resources I have come across on starting a faith based community garden.  A number of the participants at my seminars are in the midst of helping their churches start community gardens and it is good to know that there are some great resources out there.  Here are some of the best that I have found:

Tips for Starting a Faith Based Community Garden

Faith Based and Neighbourhood Partnerships in the Age of Obama

Eat Smart, Move More North Carolina: Growing Communities Through Gardens

One of the best blogs I have found on faith based gardening is Sparks in the Soil

I will continue to add to this list over the next few weeks if you are interested and would love to hear from those of you that have other resources to add to the list too.

11 Responses

  1. Brilliant! Very encouraging Christine!

  2. Thanks for the shout-out, Christine! It sounds like you’re involved with some really exciting spiritual garden work. Wow would I love to take one of your seminars! Nice to “meet” you.

  3. We’re just getting going on a church-community partnership to start a community garden in Spokane. Will be following along here for resource. Our garden web site is http://www.pumpkinpatchgarden.com if you want to see how we’re going at it. Just making it up as we go.

    We’ve been intentional to use Facebook and Twitter to help get the word out and it looks like we’ll have a Twitter inspired flash mob at our first big work day in April. We created a Facebook fan page and have that linked to Twitter.
    We also have a highly visible plot of land and are using that to help get business sponsors on board. Got 35 yards of soil donated to fill our planter boxes.

    We do a lot of gardening at home – turned lawn into labyrinth vegetable garden, etc.. Glad to see that we’re not the only ones finding deep connections between faith and gardening.

    • Craig great to know about what is happening in Spokane. Would love to come visit sometime. And if you have any interest in a seminar on spirituality and gardening let me know

      • I love the idea of having you come over the mountains. Let me inquire around with some of the other churches that have gardens. What is your schedule like. Email me at goody2230 (at) gmail (dot) com.

        Thanks

  4. Craig I did not expect such a prompt and enthusiastic response. I will look over my schedule and see what might be possible

  5. WOW!! – answer to prayer here, day off and just random lurking around the Blogosphere and here I am!!!

    We had our first Street Community BBQ in the vacant block next door a few weeks back, over 70 adults turned up plus children … it is our vision to turn the vacant block into a “Community Garden” it’s about 5 acres.

    You bet I will chase this links up!! HEY – have a great day.
    Shalom.

    BTW
    I posted here in Feb on the day.
    http://mark-bymaswell.blogspot.com/2010/02/god-next-door.html

    • Mark so glad you found this. I hope to add more resources over the next couple of weeks. You might also find the book of Garden reflections I have written – To Garden with God – interesting. Please stay in touch and let us know how your project progresses

  6. What a evocative and understanding article you have created there, very well described and well described providing significant info on the topic. Tweeted to my 1700 fans.

  7. […] Starting a faith-based community garden (Godspace blog) […]

Leave a comment