The Coming Of the Lord is Near – Advent Meditation Video 2009


Here is my Advent meditation video for 2009.  I have really enjoyed putting this one together as I have been meditating on What Am I Waiting for this Advent?

The music is Gloria – Remember from the CD Standing Still by Jeff Johnson Used by permission. All rights reserved.

A high quality version for use in large groups and churches can be purchased and downloaded here. You can see my videos from the last few years here

The coming of our Lord is near,

New light dawning in the midst of darkness

New hope reigning beyond death and despair

New life sprouting for all creation

The coming of our Lord draws near

And we wait in eager expectation

We wait for the one who grieves

When tsunamis hit and bushfires rage

We wait for the one who bears our sorrows

When earthquakes shake and droughts parch

We wait for the one who shares our anguish

When wars kill and disease destroys

The coming of our Lord draws near

And we wait in joy and hopefulness

For the one who pours out love on all creation

The one who formed us in our mother’s wombs

We wait for the One who fills every fiber of our being

The coming of the Lord draws near

And we wait yearning for God’s redeeming child

We wait for the One who transfigures our world with the spirit of life

And transforms our lives with the wonder of love

We wait for our Saviour, for Jesus Christ our Lord.

Come Lord Jesus come – transfigure the world with your love


26 Responses

  1. […] The Coming Of the Lord is Near – Advent Meditation Video 2009 […]

  2. Best one yet Christine! Powerful and full of Advent Expectation! Thank you so much for creating this and sharing with us!

  3. Wow..this is very poignant, and powerful. I really like the song you choose! Thank you! I’ll share with my friends!

  4. Very nice. I’ll be watching it again when Advent starts. Thank you for some more Advent food for thought.

  5. Just beautiful! Thank you for this most powerful devotion for Advent.

  6. very nice article….do you know anything about angels?
    if so then you can write a one post on that too.i liked this one also…thanks.you can also visit my website and

  7. […] The lyrics and past videos, as well as the opportunity to buy HD copies for use in worship are available on the GodSpace website. […]

  8. […] And the Advent meditation for 2009 […]

  9. […] The Coming Of the Lord is Near – Advent Meditation Video 2009 (godspace.wordpress.com) […]

  10. […] Advent reflection from Christine Sine. […]

  11. […] having been asked and answered, I then watched Christine Sine’s excellent Advent meditation videohttps://godspace.wordpress.com/2009/11/17/the-coming-of-the-lord-is-near-advent-meditation-video-2009…. Gosh, it wasn’t all about me! It wasn’t about me getting what I want. Slapped upside the head […]

  12. […] <blockquote>christine sine loves advent and has produced a movie this year which you can view and read the text of on her blog here. […]

  13. […] The Coming of the Lord is Near – An Advent Meditation Video for 2009 Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)First Monday of Advent – What Are We Waiting For this Advent?Moving Through AdventFirst Wednesday of Advent – Waiting: A Reflection by Julie Clawson […]

  14. I loved this video.

  15. […] by smhjr in Christmas. Tagged: Advent, Christmas, video. Leave a Comment Christine Sine created a very nice reflection video for Advent.  We watched this in our group the other night, […]

  16. […] The Coming of the Lord is Near – An Advent Meditation Video for 2009 Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Can’t I just stay sleeping?Advent is CounterculturalWaiting For Advent […]

  17. […] The Coming of the Lord is Near – An Advent Meditation Video for 2009 […]

  18. […] The Coming of the Lord is Near – An Advent Meditation Video for 2009 Possibly related posts: (automatically generated) […]

  19. […] Advent reflection from Christine Sine. […]

  20. I’m looking for a service that I found and now lost. I has the following in it: “Keep alert, for you do not know when the time will come…in the evening, or at midnight, or at dawn. Keep awake.
    Such amazing things happen in the sky to herald the return of the Son of Man:
    …Jesus, coming in the clouds
    …the sun grows dark
    …the moon doesn’t shine
    …and stars fall from the heavens…” and on.

  21. reply bu e-mail

  22. Jesus return is many many generations away

  23. After I originally commented I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I recieve 4 emails with the exact same comment. Is there a means you can remove me from that service? Thanks!

    • I am not sure why this would be and I don’t know how to change it. Did you subscribe to the blog. That might be the problem. If so you should be able to unsubscribe but I cannot do that for you.

  24. Wow, fantastic blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is fantastic, let alone the content!. Thanks For Your article about The Coming Of the Lord is Near & .

Leave a comment