Walking Toward the Cross


Next week is holy week and many of us are already getting ready to commemorate this extremely important part of the celebration of our faith as we walk with Jesus toward his betrayal and death.  There are so many resources out there to help us walk through this season that I feel there is little for me to add.  Over the last couple of years I have collected a variety of resources I feel are well worth a look that I have repeated the links for below.  However as many new resources become available each year I thought that I would mention the new ones I have come across this year first.  

John Chandler has set up a twitter account called passion week specifically to follow the events of the last week of Jesus life as we live in anticipation of the resurrection.  You can read about it on his blog here 

This Youtube presentation produced by Jesuit Brother Edward Sheehy is a very powerful presentation of the passion story 

I really enjoyed this one illustrated by students at St Patrick’s Catholic School in Onalaska Wisconsin 

Here is a very powerful presentation of the stations of the Cross using images of refugees from Iraq and Sudan as spectators and participants.  (The stations of the Cross are down the side of the post)

My favourites from years past are:

A very powerful presentation of the stations from the perspective of liberation theology by Adolfo Pérez Esquivel of Argentina

Stations of the Cross from Hamilton New Zealand 

Cityside Baptist Church in New Zealand 

I would love to be able to add to these resources for the future.  What are your favourite presentations of Stations of the Cross that help you to focus your reflections during this final week of Jesus life.

3 Responses

  1. Thanks for some great links.

    jazztheologian

  2. […] amazes me how much information there is on the web about how to celebrate the Stations of the Cross. There is less about Easter Sunday and our celebration of the resurrection. And what is meant to be […]

  3. Please advise the name of the road where Jesus carried the the cross. Thanks

Leave a comment