Waiting for Advent – A Prayer from the liturgy of Malabar


Tomorrow I am hoping to upload my Advent 2009 meditation video.  It has taken me a little longer this year because I moved to using a Mac a few months ago and have been on a steep learning curve as I have grappled with Imovie.  At first i thought of giving this year a miss but as I started thinking about Advent I found that prayers and responses were revolving in my mind and I also realized how relaxing I find this process.

I was rereading this prayer adapted from the Liturgy of the Malabar Syrian Church and thought that I would share it as a preparation for the coming season.  I find that anything that helps me slow down and refocus on Christ and the wonder of his coming to us as a helpless babe is helpful at this season.  While researching the liturgy I also came across this cool site which gives access to Anglican liturgies from many different traditions.

God today our hands have touched what you created in love and holiness.  Strengthen them that they may daily bring forth fruit to your glory

God today our lips have sung your praise and our voices have rejoiced in your sanctuary.  May the words of our mouths and the songs of our hearts glorify you forever.

God today we have relaxed together in the presence of your loving faithfulness.  Walk with us into the blessed hope of your eternal community.  May the souls and bodies that have tasted of your living body and blood be renewed.  May we ever be restored and journey with you into the newness of life

Amen

Leave a comment