Are We Patient With Darkness and Growth


seeds sprout in darkness

seeds sprout in darkness

This morning I am struggling. So many seeds I hoped would have sprouted by now are still showing no obvious growth. And I am not just talking about garden seeds here. In MSA we are all eagerly awaiting the growth and development of the Mustard Seed Village. We are looking forward to the start of our semester away program, and we are still hoping to see all that we are doing fully funded. But at the moment the growth still seems to be underground.

As I thought about this today the words that came to me were:

Be patient with darkness and growth,

Willingly live with not knowing,

Work happily with God,

Allow the mustard seeds to sprout.

It was a good reminder to me. Most growth occurs in darkness. Most seeds sprout in darkness, and even during the high growth season most of that growth occurs at night. Evidently plants store up nutrients during the day and then put on a growth spurt at night.

Being patient is hard though. Sometimes I am tempted to dig into the soil to see if anything is happening. Having the faith that what I have planted will sprout, grow and eventually bear fruit does not come easily, that of course is why we call it faith. As hebrews reminds us:

Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see. (Hebrews 11:1)

May God grant us all faith today to believe in the fulfillment of the unseen things that God has placed on our hearts.

7 Responses

  1. So true, Christine! And even when they sprout you wish they’d grow a bit faster! The bulbs are peaking through the surface but I’m concerned that some of them are coming up too soon and may freeze. Sometimes our desire to see evidence of growth is pre-mature. When we rush the season of rest, of waiting, of germinating we can rush into a season of unfruitfulness or even death.

  2. Andy I am not sure that I wanted this reminder – not feeling very patient today

  3. Dear Sister,
    I encourage you to remember that our time is not the Father’s Time…He does things according to our need – not our desire, but you know that. It is just a sharp lesson to “realize” (make real), especially in today’s too-secular world.

  4. What a beautiful post today… This has been my struggle too. I am so thankful to “hear” someone else understand what I wrestle with. Your post is a timely reminder to be patient and to have faith. I am greatly encouraged! Abundant blessings.

  5. Joanie, from the popularity of this post I think it is something that a lot of people are struggling with

  6. Good clarification. I like to read it Marcy

Leave a comment